I can’t give you a “31 Days of October” movie list because I can’t get around to watching 31 movies anymore. But I can give you a list of my personal must-watch movies of October. Below are the movies I just gotta watch every October  –in no true particular order- I almost feel empty inside if I don’t get these in during the month of Halloween.

dracula_movie_poster_style_f
Dracula (1931)

Bela Lugoi, say no more. The most intense eyes in movies brought Dracula to (cheesy) life. I love “Nosferatu,” but when I want music AND spoken dialogue of the Bram Stoker classic, I gotta have Lugosi in October.

frankenstein_poster_1931
Frankenstein (1931)

This is literally the ONLY version of “Frankenstein” I’m willing to watch. I’ll watch Mel Brooks “Young Frankenstein” any day though, but I gotta have the original in October.

800px-creature_from_the_black_lagoon_poster
Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954)

Not the best movie, but still awesome and the Gill-Man is a classic character.

dracula1958poster
Horror of Dracula (1958)

Sir Christopher Lee was an awesome Dracula and his first outing is one of my favorites. He took nine shots at the original prince of darkness, this one is the best.

lastmanonearth1960s
The Last Man on Earth (1964)

Vincent Price is a guy I can’t live without in October. You could watch almost any of his, but I fulfill my Vincent Price requirement with this one usually, or “House on Haunted Hill.” Will Smith made an absolutely inferior remake, “I Am Legend.” Price’s narration of his isolation is what makes this movie.

large_anagmnlyk0espzsjr2i1whqufjf
Night of the Living Dead (1968)

Is this is the best zombie movie? No, it’s not even George Romero’s best (“Dawn of the Dead” and “Day of the Dead” are both better), but this old school classic is legendary and I enjoy the tension among the survivors. The ending is still one that pisses me off to this day.

936full-friday-the-13th-part-iv-the-final-chapter-poster
Friday the 13th (1-4, 6 or 7)

I usually go 1-4, the continuous story is the best of the series, but I can’t watch all of them so I usually select one or two from those first four. Jason movies are what got me into horror and I’ll never go an October without him.

nightmare-1
A Nightmare on Elm Street (1, 3 or 4)

Who doesn’t love Freddy? October is fun with Freddy and I have an easier choice picking from these because I only care for three of the Nightmare movies. It’s not Halloween without the man of your dreams.

halloween_1978_theatrical_poster
Halloween 1-3

I basically watch all three of these. “Halloween III” is a must if you’ve never seen it. If you don’t like it, quit thinking about Michael Myers. John Carpenter gave us two legit Myers movies, everything else after the first two is forgettable.

evil_dead_ii_poster
Evil Dead 2

I love the Evil Dead trilogy, but “Evil Dead 2” is the tightest of them all. Everything about it is great and I absolutely prefer 2 to “Army of Darkness.”

reanimator_poster
Re-Animator

Herbert West usually helps me kick-off October as it is most likely one of my first week movies. This HP Lovecraft adaptation is so good and the entire cast plays their parts well, especially Jeffery Combs (West) and David Gale (Dr. Hill … alive and as a head).

talesfromthedarkside
Tales from the Darkside: The Movie

My favorite anthology as a kid, “Creepshow” is good, but “Tales” wins it for me with “Lot 249” and my favorite, “Cat From Hell.” William Hickey kills his part in that and the ending of the cat story is so awesome.

monstersquadposter
Monster Squad

Explanation needed? Come on, it’s “Monster Squad.”  Dracula escapes Van Helsing with a crew of classic creature baddies into the present, calls a little girl a “bitch” and we find out that the Wolfman has nards.

trick_r_treat
Trick r Treat

This anthology movie was a newer addition. I probably hadn’t added a new movie to my “gotta watch” list for October in a long time. I’m an old school kinda guy, but “Trick r Treat” really spoke to me the first time I watched it and I pretty much need it every October now. Sam is the cutest little killer creature and the interconnections of the stories warrants an annual viewing.

I could keep the list going, but the above movies really represent a constant for my Octobers. I throw in plenty of other movies, but this list is the core.

Happy Halloween!

