Sour Brainless on Peaches

(Release No. 2)

American Wild Ale

Epic Brewing (Denver, CO)

7.9% ABV

Kvlt Rating: 4.5/5

Having heard from a few people about how good Epic Brewing‘s second release of their Sour Brainless on Peaches was I knew I had to acquire one for myself. I like Epic’s Brainless on Peaches just fine, but this suped up sour version blows it away.

Grabbing one from the nearest liquor store that has an ok selection of craft beers I got it onto my counter and took a knife to the wax dipped neck to cut a place for the bottle opener. Unlike other sour beers, this one didn’t come frothing out the top after prying off the cap.

After the hazy golden straw pour, my nose could only pick up oak and Brett. Good things were coming.

I’m not here to wax poetic about it and fluff this up. It’s delicious and tart with a good balance of oak, peach and Brett. According to Epic, this was a blend of sour beer from their Lactobacillus and Brettanomyces foeders brewed in October of 2014 and then cellared on peach puree for near a year. Patience (and bacteria) makes a damn good beer then.

The Sour Brainless has a light body and very easy finish, the taste of which doesn’t linger. Aside from the oak, peach and Brett, the only other flavor I could really pick up was maybe a touch of white wine taste.

This one is tart but not too lip puckering. With less than 5,000 bottles in this release I strongly advise you find one of these for immediate consumption and save a few for later. You’re going to want some more when they’re all gone.

Three jams while drinking Sour Brainless on Peaches:

Judas Priest – “Screaming for Vengeance” from Screaming for Vengeance

Bestia Arcana – “Shepherd of Perdition” from The Anabainon ek tes Abyssu

Vektor – “LCD (Liquid Crystal Disease) from Terminal Redux

 

 

